Why I’m Coming: Jenny-Sayre Ramberg

Hey, I’m Jenny-Sayre and I’m really looking forward to the retreat.  Why?

Welcome to Monterey Bay Aquarium's Splash Zone!

Welcome to Monterey Bay Aquarium's Splash Zone!

 

  • I want to do all these fun activities that we’re planning!
  • I love spending time at Asilomar—you can hear the waves, stroll to the beach and meet in tree shaded rooms or just under the trees.
  • I’m very eager to hear about, try out and take home new ways to build and foster creative teams and keep my own creative juices flowing in collaborative projects.
  • I can’t wait to have 70 some museum and exhibit people on the Monterey Peninsula all at the same time!

I’m also looking forward to talking about how we can meet the challenge of making museums places people feel at home in and challenged by— to borrow Elaine Gurian’s words “safe places for unsafe ideas.” I work at a museum that has wholeheartedly embraced a mission of inspiring social change to protect nature over ten years ago (The mission of the Monterey Bay Aquarium is to inspire conservation of the ocean) and we’re still figuring out what that means in a museum. What does inspiring attitude and behavior change look like? How fun is it? How can it be creative and collaborative?

Lately I’ve been particularly inspired by the use of humor and wit and play to explore usually serious topics. (“Prop 8: The musical” on YouTube, Jon Stewart most nights, World without Oil game) I don’t know where that’s going but hope to talk to some of you about how we can bring lightness with us when we venture into tough topics. 

I look forward to meeting you here on the website and at the retreat. 
Jenny-Sayre  

 

Leave a Reply

