Why I’m Coming: Lynn Baum

lynnpicThis retreat comes at a very special time for me. After 30 years at the Museum of Science, Boston I decided it was time to make a change. Although I hope to stay connected to special projects I formally left the museum on April 2nd. Over the years at the museum I have had wonderful opportunities to develop new programs and exhibits. I am most proud of starting the development of our youth programs which changed the culture in the museum – giving both staff and visitors a first hand experience at just how much teens, and especially urban teens can contribute to a community. The learning flew in so many directions.

But at some point I was starting to feel stale – the creative pieces of the work did not feel creative any longer. And just as importantly, the Youth Program work was in a good place, with enough good staff and strong support from management.

An opportunity arose and it seemed perfect for this moment in my life. My former museum colleague, Jan Crocker, decided to start her own exhibit development company, Jan Crocker LLC and invited me to join. New challenges – some risk and lots of wonderful creativity and collaboration with some very talented people. So I am embarking on my next new adventure and this is my kick-off! Thank you for timing it so perfectly for my life.

Leave a Reply

